A film overviewing the life and work of Charles Hubert Hastings Parry and exploring his works for violin and piano has just been released by EM Records. The 16-minute documentary was filmed, with the kind permission of the Hon. Laura Ponsonby and Kate and Ian Russell, in the beautiful and atmospheric surroundings of Shulbrede Priory in West Sussex, a 12th-century building that belonged to Parry’s son-in-law, Arthur Ponsonby, and which Parry himself visited frequently.


The film’s main purpose is to raise awareness of Parry’s chamber music – a genre with which he is not popularly associated – and, in particular, his works for violin and piano, which EM Records plans to record shortly and for which project we are currently fundraising. The film can be viewed using the media player below; and you can subscribe to the disc by visiting this page.


EM Records is delighted to announce the releases of no fewer than three new discs.


EMR CD029 features the Violin Sonatas by Harold Darke and Herbert Sumsion alongside the powerful Sonata for Violin and Organ by Richard Pantcheff. This disc received a launch in the magnificent Chapter House at Gloucester Cathedral, with a superb performances of the Darke and Sumsion Sonatas by Marshall-Luck and Honeybourne, the artists featured on the disc.


Gurney, Scott and Venables feature on EMR CD031 from Richard Jenkinson and Benjamin Frith, with the significant World Première recordings of the substantial Sonatas for Cello and Piano by Gurney and Scott, alongside works for these instruments by Ian Venables. This disc was launched at an extremely popular event at the Elgar Birthplace Museum.


Finally, a variety of composers old and new are included on the double-disc set EMR CD032-33, with the Chamber Ensemble of London, from Avison, Mudge, Smith and Purcell through Ireland, Elgar, Delius, Darke and Walton to Clive Jenkins, John Dankworth and Paul Lewis.

A highly rewarding double-disc collection. Bax’s Sonata explodes with pent-up energy... Williams’s rich, expansive sound is well caught.
EMR CD007-8 | Classical Music
deeply committed and discriminating performances... Marshall-Luck’s ability to spin cantabile lines with the subtlest of phrasal inflections pays dividends.
EMR CD006 | The Strad
If in any way you like English music then this disc is a must. Even if you don’t, this disc is a must. In fact, you have little choice: buy it, please.

EMR CD005 | MusicWeb International

Whether on violin or viola, Marshall-Luck plays with ideal purity over the widest range... Matthew Rickard’s piano-playing is also impressive.
EMR CD003 | Gramophone
David Owen Norris’s performances convey exactly the sense of contained delight I’m sure Quilter would have wanted.
EMR CD002 | BBC Music Magazine
an ideal combination of enterprising programming, some impressive musical archaeology, and superb playing.
EMR CD001 | International
Record Review